What is Chakra Psychology and their Role in Wellness

Written by - Reviewed by Consumer Health Digest Team

Published: Apr 6, 2018 | Last Updated: Sep 23, 2019

Psychology of Chakras

There are intense changes happening within our world and humanity as a whole. Centuries of disharmony have led to a critical point and people are starting to realize that there is more than meets the eye. We have not been in-tune with ourselves and mass consciousness has begun to realize this. This problem is not due to external factors such as politics and wars ‘ these are merely symptoms of the real problem. The true problem lies at an individual level and our old way of thinking that tends to create tension. This article will aim to demystify the concept of chakras and explain how they can allow you to be more in-tune with yourself and others.

Light and Color

To truly understand chakras, you also have to understand the basics of light and color. When you take pure light, and shine it through a prism, the light always breaks into a spectrum of seven colors. These colors are red, orange,yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet or as we know, the colors of a rainbow. Each color is also related to each chakra.This is important when it comes to chakras because each color has its own vibration. Red has the longest wave length and the slowest vibrational frequency ‘ which we recognize as warm and stimulating. Violet has the shortest wave length and the fastest frequency ‘ we recognize it as cool and calming. All that happens between these two colors is a frequency change. Studies has recently discovered that certain colors can stimulate mental activity and other colors can calm the mind ‘ the basis for color psychology/therapy. This means that we require light energy to nourish our brains, emotions, physical body and especially our chakras.

Understand Chakra

What is a Chakra?

The word chakra stems from a Sanskrit word that means wheel. This is because a chakra is a wheel-like vortex that spins in a circular motion within the body. This spinning creates a vacuum in the centre that draws vibrational energy towards it. Chakras are energy points and these points run vertically from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. There are over a hundred smaller ones that can be found throughout the body. However, the most important ones are the basic 7 chakras and those are the ones I will be discussing. As I mentioned, chakras draw in energy, but each chakra also radiates energy at a certain vibration. Each chakra also governs a major organ or gland that is then connected to other body parts that resonate at the same frequency. Therefore, having balanced chakras will make you happier, healthier and much more in-tune with yourself. When a chakra is out of synch, it affects you on all levels and may even cause physical problems to the organs or glands that it is connected to. Over time this will even affect the neighbouring chakras causing a chain reaction that will result in many imbalances on emotional, mental and physical levels. Whereas having balanced chakras will lead to harmony of the mind, body and spirit.

The Seven Chakras:

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)
The root chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color red and it defines our relation to the earth. This first chakra is focussed on survival and is connected to the adrenal gland. This chakra impacts our vitality, passion and survival instincts.

The Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)
The sacral chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color orange and it relates to the water element within the human body. The second chakra is focussed on sex or interaction and is connected to the reproductive organs. This chakra impacts our sexuality, reproductive functions, joy, desires, creativity and compassion for others.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
The solar plexus chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color yellow and is associated with fire, energy and charge. The third chakra is focussed on power or ego and is connected to the pancreas. This chakra impacts our confidence, happiness, energy and respect for self and others.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)
The heart chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color green and is related to the element air. The fourth chakra is focussed on love and is connected to the thymus. This chakra impacts our relationships, connection to others and our relationship with ourselves.

The Throat Chakra (Vissudha)
The throat chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color blue and is connected to more ethereal elements. The fifth chakra is focussed on expression and is connected to the thyroid. This chakra affects our ability to communicate, listen and express ourselves creatively.

The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
The third eye chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color indigo and is associated with the element of electricity. The sixth chakra is focussed on psychic abilities and intuition and is connected to the pituitary gland. This chakra affects our telepathic abilities, charisma, knowledge and personality.

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
The crown chakra vibrates at the frequency of the color violet and is connected to the element of light. The seventh chakra is focused on spirituality and is connected to the pineal gland. This chakra affects our state of equilibrium, transcendence and heightened awareness.

Knowing Chakras

These seven chakras each have a unique trait through which we must grow and are at the core of our being. Each chakra is also a specific developmental stage, starting at birth and continuing well into middle age. As we develop and overcome challenges and experience life, so too do our chakras form and develop. Once a chakra has been developed, it becomes aware of the next chakra. When chakras are not fully developed or not functioning effectively, we become sick. Unfortunately, medicine can only cure the physical symptoms but not the cause of the problem. Therefore, it is up to us to be aware of our chakras and notice when there may be an imbalance. We are also able to balance our own chakras through diet, exercise, meditation, spending time in the sun, wearing certain colors and alternative therapies such as reiki.

Image Credits
Featured Image: Shutterstock
In-Post Images: Shutterstock
View All